Rocky Horror Picture Show: Let’s Do the Time Warp Again!

Hello everybody! Check out the review below for my favorite musical Rocky Horror Picture Show!

TITLE: Rocky Horror Picture Show

DIRECTOR: Jim Sharman

STARRING:  Tim Curry, Susan Sarandon, Barry Bostwick

GENRE: Musical Comedy Horror

YEAR: 1975

COUNTRY: United States, Britain

Rocky Horror Picture Show is one of those films that I wasn’t necessarily allowed to watch by my mom for its controversial content, but my dad let me watch it anyways. Don’t get me wrong, I hate musicals. All of the random singing and dancing just doesn’t make any sense to me. Why would you just start singing? It makes more sense to just tell us without song. Its also safer, since you can break your leg when you do all of the flips and twists that most of the characters in musicals do.

Alright, it is time to end my little rant. Rocky Horror Picture Show stars Tim Curry as the practicing transsexual Dr. Frank N Furter, as well as Susan Sarandon and Barry Bostwick as couple Brad and Janet who’s car breaks down in the middle of the night and rain. Looking for a phone to use, Brad and Janet make their way to Dr. Frank N Furter’s castle and stumble upon Frank and his guests holding a ball for the ages. They invite Brad and Janet to stay the night, and that is where things get weird. Anyways, since it has been 38 years, *****SPOILER THERE ARE ALIENS******.

Alright sorry for that spoiler alert everybody, it has been long enough that everyone who will see it has probably already seen it. So to put it simply, I love Rocky Horror Picture Show. I love everything about the film, from “Time Warp” to Meat Loaf’s brief cameo.  The songs are catchy as shit, even if time has grown on them and they are starting to all sound the same. I could not see anyone other than Tim Curry portraying Dr. Frank N Furter, no one could be a sweet transvestite from Transexual, Transylvania.

I am going to hate this part of the review. This is why I don’t review films that are my actual favorites. Although, it isn’t like Rocky Horror Picture Show is pure and without fault. Hell its far from it. There is some pretty (pardon my language) fucked up shit that goes on in the film. I mean, Dr Frank N Furter seduces both Brad and Janet pretending to be each of their significant others. Then he is murdered because he failed his mission and was a horrible alien. What?

PROS:

  • Interesting characters.
  • Controversial themes.
  • Amazing songs.
  • Superb main cast performances.

CONS:

  • Lost its spark that it had in 1975.
  • Some of the wit is flat.

SCORES: 9.0 / 10

If you have any suggestions for films/TV/Games/Music for me to review, drop me a comment! Remember: Like Media In Review @ https://www.facebook.com/MediaInReview?ref=hl Follow Media in Review @ https://twitter.com/Media_In_Review.

Leave a Reply

